Main > The Courtyard

Ouch.

<< < (8/11) > >>

Sir Edward:
Oh yes, please do. I haven't done SCA heavy (watched a bit, but haven't participated). I've read about people peeing blood if they didn't take the kidney protection seriously enough and the like (as you saw at the start of the thread). But I don't know first hand about the SCA's injury rates. I know there's a certain amount of emphasis on power, so it has me curious.

In our HEMA work, we avoid injury most of the time (except for the occasional bruise or swollen knuckle), but finger breaks happen from time to time when people aren't careful. Longpoint saw a lot more injury since the competition seemed to encourage people to ramp up the power.

Sir Rodney:
My list of SCA injuries is relatively minor considering I've been swinging a stick for more than 12 years.  Sprained ankles, heat exhaustion, and a broken thumb top my list.  Note that all of these were preventable on my part.  Taking care when stepping over "dead bodies" and trotting on rough terrain, taking more frequent water breaks when you know full well that your body is baking in the sun and wearing properly strapped / formed gauntlets would have prevented all these injuries.

The only injury that I could not have prevented myself was a concussion many years ago.  I was "legged" and fighting from my knees (think Dorf does medieval), my next recollection was everyone staring down at me saying "Are you OK?"  Evidently, our line collapsed and a guy with a longsword came around the end and clocked me in the back of the helm during the heat of the moment.  He was aghast at the injury he caused and was very apologetic; I hold no grudge against him.  Unfortunately, I didn't go to the hospital and instead suffered for a few days.  If anything, I'm mad at myself for not treating this injury properly.

Thorsteinn: