Main > The Courtyard

Learning Styles for Martial Arts

(1/3) > >>

Sir Percival:
As a novice, I'm trying to find an effective way to learn and practise the swordplay, polearm arts and other manoeuvres that I've learnt thus far.  I confess I've been hesitant to participate in classes at the WMA school where I do volunteer work since I've found the general pace of the classes too quick for me.  Moreover, I find it difficult to translate mentally what I see an instructor demonstrate to doing it myself.  I'm a very analytical and verbal person, so I learn well from memorising written instructions, but I really do need to be shown something like swordplay as in well in order learn it properly, so I can't just pick up a manual and try to learn swordplay properly on my own.  Yet, I also need detailed written instructions or some other kind of notes to revise, however, since my experience when taking classes has been leaving the class unsure about what I had learnt, and then trying to practise at home but being unable to remember key points.  The school's longsword and arming-sword curricula derive primarily from the works of Fiore and Vadi, but they haven't got true manuals of their own.

I also know that to improve genuinely, I do need to spar with other people: there's no way around it, but at this point, I'm doubtful how much I'll be able to take away from the experience.  I recognise that I lack some confidence in the basic steps, guards and strokes, and more confidence when it comes to sequences of the above.

Any advice?  I've asked my school about private lessons, and they seem willing to provide some in exchange for the work that I do, but I'd like something that I can practise regularly and efficiently.

Silvanus:
Hi Sir Percival,