Main > The Great Hall

Mae govannen!

(1/5) > >>

Greg:
Greetings!

I found my way here via Wolf, who just recently joined the forum that I most regularly frequent.

I am more a re-creator than a reenactor, buit more often than not, they are one in the same, I think.  I am a Member of the Middle Earth Ranger Forum, and a staff writer for the Middle Earth Reenactment Society.  We work to potray from as historical a viewpoint as possible, the cultures and races of Middle Earth.  All of our gear is intended to be functional, from sharp blades to cooking gear.  We build up working Ranger kits and trek in the wilds wherever we may be, and essentially do primitive backpacking trips in the backcountry as the Dunedain Rangers of the North.  Everything is inspired by the books first, before we look to the movies for ideas, as we wish to maintain Tolkien authenticity through everything.

I am a student of Western Martial arts, my preferred fields of study being the tower fetbuch I.33 and the german system.  I pride myself in having handmade everything in my kit apart from my blades and my current bow, though I do make bows and other archery equipment.  The only thing in my kit that isn't functional is the maill shirt I made, which is butted.  I wear it for the weight, but am in the middle of making flat-riveted mille from scratch, so hopefully that'll be replaced within the next decade.  I hunt regularly in my Ranger kit, both with my bow as well as with my hawk, as I am a licensed Falconer.  I make a mean jackrabbit stew, but can happily live on dried meats and cram.