"Do not be tricked into thinking that there are no crocodiles just because the water is still."
                -- Malaysian Proverb

Author Topic: What was your "defining moment" that drew you to knighthood/chivalry?  (Read 26642 times)

Corvus

• A wanderer on the road less traveled
  • Forum Follower
You are most welcome, Joshua. I was pleased to share my tale here
“Gæð a wyrd swa hio scel.”    - Beowulf

B. Patricius

• Yeoman of the Order
  • Forum Follower
  • just a brother knight
    • my pinterest - full of research
My "defining moment."

Hmm, that is a hard one.  I've always felt that regardless of the risk, the hardships, or the trials, the right path, is the ONLY path.  And I've always tried to follow that path with my heart set in that direction.

However, in 2010, I lost my way.  You see, I'm a veteran, as most of you now know, and as a veteran, Honorably discharged, medically, it's hard.  I joined the US Coast Guard, for all the right reasons.  My friends growing up, they chose their branches of service as well.  All eight of us signed up, before 9/11.  I was the last to take the oath, January 2002.  I hurt my back in high school, and so they didn't feel I physically capable.  I had to get a waiver to join.  So while my friends deployed or were training to deploy, I went to college and got in the best shape I could for the trials ahead.  We all joked about how I played trumpet, and how it was a good thing that I was joining the US Coast Guard so, in theory, I would last the longest and be able to have the honor of playing TAPS at their funerals.

I just never expected it to happen so soon.

I'm the only one left, lost my last friend of that group in 2010.  Seven friends, seven flags, seven times playing TAPS.  The seven of my friends, have all passed away, either in combat, or at home doing stupid things (as is sad a lot of veterans do).