"We don't receive wisdom; we must discover it for ourselves after a journey (Quest?) that no one can take for us or spare us."
                -- Marcel Post (1871 - 1922)

Author Topic: Help me start out?  (Read 7624 times)

Zachariah Campbell

Help me start out?
« on: 2017-09-21, 10:53:29 »
I'm new to modern chivalry, and while i have been interested in this sort of stuff for a while, i am new to HEMA in all its forms. I know a fee places around the town where i could go to learn but i have a problem. All of them want you to be over sixteen. A majority want over eighteen. I am only fourteen. I know the basics from some vids on youtube, (like the sword stances video skallagrim made. ) but much past that i dont know. How can i learn? I have two sparring swords (rawlings synthetics) and my brother practices with me but we both are equally lost.

Thorsteinn

• Squire of the Order
  • Forum Veteran
Re: Help me start out?
« Reply #1 on: 2017-09-21, 15:21:46 »
OK.

First- Were are you located?
Second- Did they explain the age thing?
Third- Have you looked into youth combat with the SCA?
Fall down seven, get up eight.

jason77

• Forum Member
  • Vincit Qui Se Vincit
« Reply #2 on: 2017-09-21, 16:03:04 »