"Many of life's failures are people who did not realize how close they were to success when they gave up."
                -- Thomas Edison

Author Topic: My kit help  (Read 7085 times)

Sampf

• Forum Member
  • New Hampshire Knight
My kit help
« on: 2015-06-05, 19:09:57 »
Since I am still new to this I have a lot of questions and I would like to ask one.
Would a breastplate and long gambeson that comes to the knees with plate arms be something you would see in history? Yes the effigies show otherwise but if you really think about it they didn't all wear armor the exact same way every one has preferences.
Im not looking to be amazingly historically accurate I just want to be close enough to where you get the idea of what period I am from. I cannot buy another gambeson I am out of money

I also Have a roundish face bascinet which I have seen in places

Sorry about my many posts I just like other peoples opinion (Especially from those more knowledgeable than me)

P.S I am basing my self of a man below
« Last Edit: 2015-06-05, 19:16:02 by Sampf »
Certainty of death. Small chance of success. What are we waiting for?

Sir Patrick

• Knight of the Order
  • Forum Acolyte
  • Nex pro inhonesto, Deus pro totus.
    • The Order of the Marshal
Re: My kit help
« Reply #1 on: 2015-06-05, 20:30:41 »
Upper body looks good, but that long gamby/hauberk thing is throwing me. Perhaps some Eastern European kit. Sir Ian?
Gules, a chevron argent between three cinquefoils ermine.
"Better to live one day as a lion, than a thousand as a lamb."
Knight, Order of the Marshal

Sir William

• Cogito ergo sum
  • Knight of the Order
  • Forum Veteran
« Reply #2 on: 2015-06-05, 20:57:29 »