"The most difficult thing in the world is to know how to do a thing and to watch someone else do it wrong without comment."
                -- Theodore H. White

Author Topic: Reenactment grade steel?  (Read 5058 times)

Sampf

• Forum Member
  • New Hampshire Knight
Reenactment grade steel?
« on: 2015-05-16, 05:26:03 »
Ok since this forum seems to be filled with people who know their way around armor more than I do (I'm a beginner so to speak)
I'm Joining an reenactment group that uses full contact full force steel blunted blades.
Anyone reccomend a metal thickness for my armor in the various places of my body?
Certainty of death. Small chance of success. What are we waiting for?

Thorsteinn

• Squire of the Order
  • Forum Veteran
Re: Reenactment grade steel?
« Reply #1 on: 2015-05-16, 07:04:18 »
We talking SCA power levels, IMCF or BOTN/HMB power levels, or HEMA power levels?
Fall down seven, get up eight.

Allan Senefelder

• Forum Follower
« Reply #2 on: 2015-05-17, 17:16:13 »
The group Sam's getting into is the Talbot Companye ( https://www.facebook.com/pages/Talbot-Companye/855142634507922 for those on FB ) who I've done work for before. I recommended Sam join the forum here as a reference resource to pick you guys brains as he's just getting started.

Sir Patrick

• Knight of the Order
  • Forum Acolyte
  • Nex pro inhonesto, Deus pro totus.
    • The Order of the Marshal
« Reply #3 on: 2015-05-18, 00:40:40 »
Looks like a cool group!
Gules, a chevron argent between three cinquefoils ermine.
"Better to live one day as a lion, than a thousand as a lamb."
Knight, Order of the Marshal

Sir Wolf

• He Who is Not to be Named
  • Knight of the Order
  • Forum Veteran
  • i have too many hats
    • man e faces
« Reply #4 on: 2015-05-18, 01:43:57 »
always love me some Paul Binns swords. my Lutel is good as well.

Sir Edward

• Forum Admin
  • Commander of the Order
  • Forum Veteran
  • Verum et Honorem.
    • ed.toton.org
« Reply #5 on: 2015-05-18, 13:41:45 »