"Honor is like an island, rugged and without a beach; once we have left it, we can never return."
                -- Nicholas Boileau

Author Topic: Medieval Sources  (Read 5585 times)

Mike W.

• Squire of the Order
  • Forum Acolyte
Medieval Sources
« on: 2014-02-04, 17:16:41 »
I'm a bit new to the Medieval era of history. In college my focus was primarily 19th ce American, so I have only what I learned in high school and the two classes in college that I took. I'm trying to build up a library of medieval history books however I have run into a few problems. On the one hand, most of the general histories in bookstores are popular histories without cited primary sources. On the other hand, most histories by academic professionals tend to be quite specific and require the reader to already have a general knowledge of the medieval era. I'm basically looking for academic, cited, general histories that cover the Viking Age, the Norman Conquest, and the Crusades. Does anyone have any recommendations?
D’azur à trois fasces d’argent, et au chef gueule chargé de trois étoiles d’or.

"The first duty of a man is the seeking after and the investigation of truth." - Marcus Tullius Cicero

Sir James A

• Weapons & Armor addict
  • Knight of the Order
  • Forum Veteran
Re: Medieval Sources
« Reply #1 on: 2014-02-04, 20:00:47 »
If you're on the Book of Faces, a group called the Beausant Brotherhood can likely point you to a number of sources for Crusader era books. I have a variety of medieval books, but not many original sources (only one jumps to mind and it's armor-centric and much later than the period you're asking).
Knight, Order of the Marshal
Sable, a chevron between three lions statant Argent

Mike W.

• Squire of the Order
  • Forum Acolyte
« Reply #2 on: 2014-02-04, 22:09:44 »