"Honor isn't about making the right choices. It's about dealing with the consequences."
                -- Koto Midori

Author Topic: Getting Into The Thick of The Action!  (Read 15403 times)

Aiden of Oreland

• Squire of the Order
  • Forum Acolyte
  • Let faith be my shield and let joy be my steed
Getting Into The Thick of The Action!
« on: 2013-10-21, 03:20:16 »
As some of you may not know I am just beginning to get into Medieval activity. I have alway had a fascination with it. But as I become of age I look past the the books and tales and search for a "piece of the action". But... I do not know the way... And that brings me to the question. I would like to start joining(when I turn 18, which is 2 years from now.) SCA events and learn medieval Martial Arts. Know of any local PA groups? Or even better joining one of you? For I would find more comfort among my comrades. Also, what gear would I need head to toe. I have a "heavy duty SCA helmet" but thats it. And i constantly browse on by-the-sword, medievalcollectables, and albion swords. I figured maybe buy flat riveted chainmail. But anyway I would love to know where to start when I turn 18.
-"I raise not the sword, but the shield."-Aiden Max

Sir James A

• Weapons & Armor addict
  • Knight of the Order
  • Forum Veteran
Re: Getting Into The Thick of The Action!
« Reply #1 on: 2013-10-21, 13:49:10 »
Thorsteinn or LrdMurchadh are probably the ones to ask for SCA stuff. I know you can get in on "youth combat" before you are 18 with parental consent. Beyond that... I don't know.
Knight, Order of the Marshal
Sable, a chevron between three lions statant Argent

Sir Edward

• Forum Admin
  • Commander of the Order
  • Forum Veteran
  • Verum et Honorem.
    • ed.toton.org
« Reply #2 on: 2013-10-21, 15:18:11 »