"Success is never final. Failure is never fatal. It is courage that counts."
                -- Winston Churchill

Author Topic: "Ivory" hilted Katana  (Read 7197 times)

Sir Edward

• Forum Admin
  • Commander of the Order
  • Forum Veteran
  • Verum et Honorem.
    • ed.toton.org
"Ivory" hilted Katana
« on: 2008-12-19, 19:43:24 »

Hey all, some of us were talking the other night, and my "ivory" katana came up in conversation. I never verified for sure who the manufacturer was. I thought I'd post a couple of pics here in case anyone recognized it clearly.

A couple of years ago I posted on SFI about it, and several folks thought it looked like Marto, especially due to the symbol on the "habaki" (blade sleeve). At the time I looked at some online catalogs for Marto, and didn't find this sword, but there were some that were similar, and at roughly the same price point.

Anyway, here's the photos:

(all clicky)

... I'm a total noob as far as eastern swords are concerned.
Sir Ed T. Toton III
Knight Commander, Order of the Marshal

( Personal Site | My Facebook )

Dragonlover

Re: "Ivory" hilted Katana
« Reply #1 on: 2008-12-19, 20:58:04 »
 The symbol on the habaki may or may not be an actual manufacturer
symbol of representation. Might be just a decorative flourish to provide
an "Eastern" flair. Doesn't look like a Hanwei, or Imperial Weapons piece.
I'll keep eye open for ya', Ed.... :)

Dragonlover

« Reply #2 on: 2008-12-19, 21:01:16 »
Just as a reference, how long have you owned this Ed?

Das Bill

• Global Moderator
  • Forum Acolyte
« Reply #3 on: 2008-12-19, 22:33:19 »
Actually, that's the Japanese character for "sword". I think I should stamp the word "sword" on all my swords from now one, just in case no one can tell what they are. :)