Main > The Round Table

Which one do you think you are?

<< < (6/7) > >>

Sir James A:

--- Quote from: Cavaliere di Fiore on 2012-06-22, 05:39:44 ---Indeed I do Sir Nathan. For about 4 years now I have studied German and Italian historical fencing, but I have been playing with swords from childhood much like most men of our mindset. I also try every martial art I can, because I believe that every art has something that I can use to make my personal one better. For instance, I am studying with the SCA right now, as well as taking Goju Ryu Karate from a friend and Jiu Jitsu from a group near where I live, though I must admit I have been lacking in my participation in the Jiu Jitsu. I like the art, but it isn't something that touches me deeply, if you understand. I plan on attending at least one practice with the Battle of Nations folks as well.

--- End quote ---

Always a pleasure to meet someone with varied culture interests. I have some previous karate time that included after-class time with just sensei, myself and one other guy, and I've been eyeballing some Koryu Gumdo nearby (basically eastern test-cutting). While I enjoy the samurai and realistic-ninja side of things, it doesn't have a personal touch to it since my heritage is european.

Joshua Santana:
An amazing discussion indeed.  Well here it my take on it.

I would be a fighter since my personality fits that role perfectly, I can see aspects of teh Artist the Scholar and the Warrior in me but I would be mostly a Fighter by Cavaliere's definitions.

However, we cannot forget to ask ourselves this question:  What truly defines us as Knights?
Is it because we believe in our Beliefs and in the Code of Chivalry?  Is it because we wear armor and wield swords?  Is it because we think ourselves as Knights and we act according to the Code?