"Success is never final. Failure is never fatal. It is courage that counts."
                -- Winston Churchill

Author Topic: Inexpensive Body Armour  (Read 6031 times)

Cavaliere di Fiore

• New Forum Member
Inexpensive Body Armour
« on: 2012-05-31, 03:36:30 »
Hello fellows,

I have been doing WMA for a few years now and really enjoy it. Recently, though, I have found an opportunity to train with members of the SCA, but find my very light armour obviously inadequate for SCA heavy fighting. If any of you have suggestions for relatively inexpensive chest/kidney protection, as well as a good gorget, I would appreciate the information and maybe some links.

I am no armouror, but I can probably bend precut plates and sew together things like lamellar. I am not looking for perfectly period, as I want to get out quickly. As long as it is protective and doesn't look like utter shite I am interested. Thank you for any information.

Regards,
Tim

Thorsteinn

• Squire of the Order
  • Forum Veteran
Re: Inexpensive Body Armour
« Reply #1 on: 2012-05-31, 04:01:06 »
#1) What is your budget?

#2) What is your Period?

#3) A surcoat/ Tunic covers many sins.

This is me at Coronet last weekend- http://modernchivalry.org/forum/index.php/topic,1909.0.html

-Ivan
Cynaguan Guardsman. Mixed Marshal & Heavy Fighter since 2000.
Fall down seven, get up eight.

Bernarr

• Forum Member
« Reply #2 on: 2012-05-31, 04:37:06 »
If you're going late 14th, there's a pretty good (and probably cheap) outline for making a wispy coat of plates here-
http://www.sinister.net/wisbylb.htm

I haven't done any pricing yet though, so I'm not sure how much it's going to run.

Sir William

• Cogito ergo sum
  • Knight of the Order
  • Forum Veteran
« Reply #3 on: 2012-05-31, 14:12:37 »